Holzer-Tandy win, Bruni-Leo Champions!


Gimmi Bruni e Federico Leo are the 2012 Champions of the International GT Open after a thrilling finale in Barcelona. The Italian pair came fourth in a race that was won by their strongest rivals, Marco Holzer-Nick Tandy, who took their fifth win with the Manthey Racing Porsche and finish runner-ups in the championship, three points behind. The other title contenders, Álvaro Barba and Matteo Malucelli (Villois Racing Aston Martin) finished 9th in the race and third in the final standings.

Patrick Pilet-Raymond Narac (KIMSA Porsche) were an excellent second today ahead of Raffaele Giammaria-Miguel Ramos (V8 Racing Corvette), who repeated yesterday’s third.

Daniel Zampieri and Michael Dalle Stelle (Kessel Racing Ferrari) secured the GTS title with a fourth position, beating today’s race winner Stefano Bizzarri, paired with Andrea Rizzoli on the AF Corse Ferrari.

Ferrari has won the Manufacturers’ titles in both categories, Super GT and GTS, with AF Corse and Kessel Racing taking the Teams’ crowns.

The race was extremely undecided. It started with the dilemma of what tires to choose, after a storm left the surface wet before the start.  Some went for slicks straight away, like Holzer, while others changed at the last minute (Leo, Barba),  having to start from the pits, and some others (Lopez, Griffin) changed tires on the grid after the 5’ panel, incurring in a drive-through.

Griffin led the initial laps, with Pilet and Holzer emerging soon after passing Giammaria and Lopez. The two Porsches battled nicely for most of the race, before and after the pit stop, while the AF Ferrari and the Villois Aston climbing up positions steadily. A couple of laps from the end, Bruni was sixth, and therefore not champion, but in the last few corners he managed to pass Bizzarri and Peter and attacked Ramos, which almost ended in a contact.

In GTS, the win went to Bizzarri, ahead of the GPR Aston of Baguette-Martin and the Seyffarth Mercedes of Wendlinger-Baumann.