Nick Tandy wins 2012 Porsche Cup


Nick Tandy is the 2012 winner of the prestigious Porsche Cup, which rewards the most successful non-works Porsche driver every year. The 28-year Brit finished 2nd in the GT Open with the Manthey Racing car shared with Marco Holzer, but took part also in events from six other series, scoring most points.

He beat another GT Open contender, Raymond Narac (IMSA Performance) and Paolo Ruberti. This is the second time a full-time driver in the GT Open takes the trophy, after Gianluca Roda in 2010.

Tandy was awarded at an event in Weissach last Saturday by Dr. Wolfgang Porsche, Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Porsche AG, and received the keys of a 911 Carrera S. The Brit was obviously very happy to join a club which includes legendary names as those of Van Lennep, Pescarolo, Ludwig, Wollek or Mass, to name a few. "When you look at the names that have won the Porsche Cup, it clearly means something," he commented, "It is great to be recognised for your efforts, especially if you don't end up winning a championship.”