2012 Champions awarded in Monte Carlo


It was celebration time at Monaco on Saturday evening, as the 2012 winners of the International GT Open and of the European F3 Open received their prizes at the yearly Awards Ceremony, in the prestigious scenery of the Hotel Hormitage and in a very friendly atmosphere.

Stars of the evening were the 2012 Champions, Giammaria Bruni and Federico Leo, who won the title after an exciting and closely-fought season. Duly acclaimed were also their most direct contenders and runner-ups Marco Holzer and Nick Tandy. The AF Corse and the Manthey Racing pairs had very gracious words for each other, proving once again their greatness as drivers and sportsmen.

It was a successful evening for the Prancing Horse, as Cristiano Michelotto collected the Manufacturers’ trophy on behalf of Ferrari, and Batti Pregliasco (AF Corse) and Ronnie Kessel (Kessel Racing) received the Teams’ trophies, in the overall and GTS categories, respectively.

Youth was the mark in the top three of the GTS category, with Daniel Zampieri and Michael Dalle Stelle (Kessel Racing) collecting their laurels, flanked by runner-up Stefano Bizzarri (AF Corse) and third-classified Archie Hamilton (Autorlando Sport), who received also the prize for team mate Marco Mapelli.

The event attracted a large representation of GT Open faithful participants, including teams such as AF Corse, Manthey Racing, Autorlando Sport, Villorba Corse and Kessel Racing and counted with the presence of key motorsports executives as Uwe Brettel (Porsche) and James Walters (Aston Martin).

In his address, Jesús Pareja, CEO of GT Sport, stressed the level of the 2012 championship and stated that GT Sport is looking forward to 2012 with optimism. “This is because we have gained the trust of teams and drivers that have been with us, and we see growing interest from new potential participants. You, teams, drivers, manufacturers and sponsors are the true actors of the GT Open”, he commented.